I Am Alone. Utterly Alone.*

In a few minutes, I’m going to be completely alone in the house. It will probably only be for an hour but it will be the first time I’ve not had at least one child home with me in…I can’t even remember. Years.

I have things I need to do, forms that need dropping off and books that need returning to the library but screw it, I’m not going to do any of that.

Instead, I’m going to sit here on my couch and read. I may eat some of the ice cream I’ve been hiding in the back of the fridge, since there won’t be anyone here to ask me if they can have some, please, mama, please, just one bite, pleasepleasepleaseplease you never let me have ANYTHING, you’re so MEAN, GIMME GIMME GIMME.

It’s exhausting. They are needy because they are almost 4 and 5-1/2 and 15. But the two youngest are even more needy because of this move and the upheaval and the fact that their dad isn’t really being very good about communicating with them. It’s all on me to absorb that. to try to help them process this part of our lives and it’s hard.

So I’m going to relish my time alone. Who knows when I’ll get it again?

*Name that movie….

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. talesofmy30s
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 11:59:45

    ENJOY.

    Reply

  2. daysgoby
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 13:37:13

    Oh, man, I *love* that time. Enjoy it.

    Reply

  3. sandy
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 18:20:11

    Aaaaaahhhhhh.

    Reply

  4. beth
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 20:50:50

    Enjoy the silence. (And the ice cream) 🙂

    Reply

  5. bridgid
    Jun 16, 2010 @ 14:51:29

    Beetlejuice! Ha-ha, that dance scene was classic. Enjoy your “me” time.

    Reply

  6. Holyoke Home
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 21:18:14

    I am gonna guess, “Say Anything”. No?

    Reply

  7. Major Bedhead
    Jun 17, 2010 @ 21:22:04

    Nope, Beetlejuice. Although Say Anything has many memorable lines and is responsible for starting my John Cusack crush….

    Reply

  8. Kelly
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 13:25:07

    I’d have to Google it, and that would be cheating. I hope you embrace that alone time. I like Beth’s comment, because it makes me think that’s what Depeche Mode meant to name their song!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

