Yet More About Boo

Boo wet the bed tonight. She wets the bed a lot but it’s usually in the middle of the night and I’ve always thought she just never woke up for it, slept right thru it and didn’t feel the wet. But now that I think about it, I think the therapist she was seeing put that idea into her head because it wasn’t until he mentioned that in front of her that she started saying that she couldn’t feel it.

But tonight she wet the bed right after I put her in it. She didn’t call me, she didn’t get up, she just peed the bed. I only figured it out because I went back in there to give her a stuffed animal and I reminded her of our deal – she goes a month without wetting the bed and she’ll get a comforter set that she can pick out herself. That’s when she told me she’d already peed.

I thought this was a medical thing, you know, small bladder, sound sleeper, but now I wonder if this isn’t an extension of the whole pooping in the closet thing she was doing 8 months ago.

I know this is most likely because of the chaos that’s going on around here. I know that. But I don’t know if therapy will help. I also really can’t afford the therapy bill. I’ll have to ask if the doctor she was seeing can reduce the copay or if there’s some other way to get a discount. Or maybe he just has some ideas for me because I’m stumped.

Maybe I should do a reward chart for smaller lengths of time –  five days gets something. But what? What’s a good, small reward for that? Something I don’t have to buy, as money is very tight right now.

Can I please just get a break? Please? I know this isn’t a major crisis but it’s just one. more. thing in my seemingly endless list of things to worry about.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 20:05:29

    Can you do one day at a time? Maybe it would seem more doable if she just had to stay dry one night? Then two, etc.? As for cheap rewards, my kids love when I can squeeze in special time with just one of them. (Nearly impossible, but almost always free.)
    Good luck. I know how these (not-so) little things can really make tensions so much worse.

    Reply

  2. Vickie
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 20:21:40

    Don’t say a word about her wetting her bed. But insist that she wash her own sheets and make her own bed, helping her very little. Say nothing at all to her about it, other than “Oh, now YOU have to clean up your mess” said in rather a monotone. Drop any mention of it. It’s NOTHING. She is doing it to be passive aggressive to show you she’s mad. Yeah, you get it. But you don’t have to be terribly inconvenienced by it. If she refuses, then strip the bed and do the sheets. Next time she asks for something, say “NO, you wouldn’t clean up your mess so NO, you don’t get ____” Ignore her if she badgers you. Don’t react. Don’t respond. Say your piece and then get on with life. Believe me, it works.

    Reply

  3. majorbedhead
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 20:35:05

    I like that idea, Vickie. Thanks!

    Reply

  4. Renee
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 17:29:34

    For small rewards, we let the kids pick what they want for dinner on night. Not a restaurant or take out, something I can cook. Sometimes they want pancakes, sometimes spaghetti, but it’s their choice and they like it.

    Reply

  5. Gabriella
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 19:35:00

    This is tough to deal with; especially with everything else you’re going through. Vickie’s suggestion sounds like a good one. I don’t have any suggestions other than what you’ve probably already tried.

    Reply

  6. Kelly
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 15:33:07

    I imagine it’s so hard to stay calm in the moment (well, I don’t have to imagine, being parent two two girls 6 and 4). I do like Vickie’s idea, as it seems attention is the key, whether it’s positive or negative. It also removes your emotion, but lets her know that actions with intentions (i.e. purposefully wetting the bed) have consequences.

    You’re in my thoughts, and more…

    Reply

  7. OpinionatedGift
    Apr 18, 2010 @ 11:15:36

    I think Vickie is on to something. But be sure not to make it seem like a punishment.

    Not that it’s a fun thing, but that its going to have consequences to her every day life.

    Beyond that I can’t tell you. I never had to deal with it. Oddly enough my daughter never wet her bed. Ever. I didn’t know that was even possible.

    Reply

  8. Shana
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 10:57:35

    My daughter wet the bed until the age of 7, when we tried using the bedwetting alarm her pediatrician had been urging us to try for a few years. Sounds a little crazy, but it worked — and quickly. You use the alarm combined with a reward/tracking chart.

    This will sound really weird since I’m just a lurker and you don’t know me, but I would be happy to send you our slightly-used alarm. It doesn’t smell at all like pee, promise. Send me an email if you would like it. I still have all the information that came with it as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

