Whatever You Do, Don’t Call It Ginger

I have an unhealthy obsession with all things Buffy.

I also have a major thing for Willow. I lovee her nerdy sexiness (or is it sexy nerdiness?). I love her loyalty. But most of all, I love her hair. (Note: If you are a redhead, I will most likely be a little in love with you. I may also secretly want to cut off all your hair and make myself a wig.)

Whenever my life turns itself upside down, I do something drastic to my hair. Last time, I cut it all off. I looked godawful so I’m not going to do it again. I would, however, like to have red hair. Willow-red hair. I do not have the money to go to a salon, though, so I need advice: What is the best way to get my hair red like that? My regular hair colour is brown with natural dark red highlights (and a bit of grey, if I’m being completely honest).

Do I need to go down to Sally’s Beauty Supply or is there a colour I can buy at the drugstore? I have tried all the L’Oreal Feria red shades and I’ve tried henna. Henna, for the record, is nasty. It also did nothing for my colour.

I need your help, internets. Please don’t let me down.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. liztull
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 18:33:34

    The BEST hair color in the world, hands down. Plus, it has a French name so you’ll feel fancy:

    http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=178695&catid=32201&cmbProdBrandFilter=45885&aid=337953&aparam=l_oreal_couleur_experte_&CAWELAID=128413921

    (They have lots of reds…Just search on “couleur experte” and you’ll find them.)

    Reply

  2. majorbedhead
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 18:51:13

    Thanks, Elizabeth! I was eying that the other day.

    Reply

  3. talesofmy30s
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 19:28:05

    ah yes, the hair trick. one thing you can control in life. if you find a good red, let me know, my greys are multiplying by the minute lately.

    Reply

  4. Angela
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 20:37:12

    I have red right now. Decided to change from the black I had been dying it since October. I have a couple boxes I bought at CVS on clearance.

    One is Feria in the Cardinal shade. It’s a rich auburn. Thats what I used the last time it was really red. I forgot what I used this last time.

    Good luck finding the right color for you!

    Reply

  5. Vickie
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 21:21:19

    I use Natural Instincts (demi permanent, level 2 hair color). I find all the warm brown go red. If you DON’T want red, you have to go ‘ash brown’ or ‘ash blonde’. So, their reds should go quite red. And — if you don’t like it – 30 washes and it’s almost faded out. Really forgiving to grow out. Covers gray quite well. http://www.clairol.com/naturalinstincts/ and it’s CHEAP!

    Reply

  6. elizasmom
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 09:48:16

    I like Garnier Nutrisse stuff. Are you looking for more of a copper or a burgundy tone? I found that most over-the-counter products do better with the burgundy-toned reds than with the copper-toned ones. I’ve tried most of the ones mentioned above and gotten good results, but I settled on Garnier Nutrisse because I preferred the coppery reds for my hair and they had the best version.

    Reply

  7. Sharon
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 18:43:57

    Well, are you red yet? Photos must follow…

    Reply

  8. Heidi
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 23:06:23

    I was dying red for a while. Honestly, the best was from a salon. It was a demipermanent by Redken (I think it’s called Shades EQ??), but you’d have to have it done. Honestly, though, I’m not sure I can ever go back. It was that good. Worth every penny – and grows out well so I don’t *have* to get it done as often, even when it’s red.

    I’ve used the Colour Experte one. It *fries* my hair. Hard core fries. It looked okay the first week or so (although it felt very dry immediately) but after that it just started looking awful. It could be that my hair is particularly dry or unruly – it is curly, so that doesn’t bode well for it. Also, my hair is really long, and I think that makes damage harder to hide.

    Aside from that I never found a red I loved. I did think the Feria ones were the strongest (and the hardest to cover). When I dyed over the Feria I still had two-toned hair – just weirder looking. If I decided to do it myself again I think I’d start with a 30-day one. Yeah, it would fade more but I think it would help me have to experiment less with the permanents.

    Reply

  9. Kelly
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 10:54:31

    Please take a photo of yourself post-dye job, because I want to see your lovely Willow-ness! (I adore red hair, and back when I colored, I always picked the semi-permanent red tones.)

    Reply

  10. Sarahtoo
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 23:22:20

    So did you do it?? I second (third?) the request for photos! Go red, girl!

    Reply

  11. Melissa
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 19:12:16

    Not sure if you remember me from MZ/MO, but I’m melissa&themoose. I have a great shade of red and I use Light Mountain Naturals henna in “red”. There are several shades, but I use plain red. Everyone assumes it’s natural and it’s a great, vibrant, Willow-esque red. I highly recommend it!

    Reply

  12. Gabriella
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 19:33:52

    The one thing I have to say about red hair; besides the fact that I LOVE it…is after you dye it make sure you use a shampoo formulated for red hair…
    Everytime I get mine done it fades very fast if I don’t use shampoo for redheads…not sure if this is just me or everyone else though…

    Reply

  13. Poppy Buxom
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 11:44:37

    I am a hardcore Buffy fan, and I love Willow, too. Love the pic of her as Vamp Willow!

    I always found that Natural Instincts veered in the red direction, too, for what that’s worth.

    You do know that reds fade like a mofo, right?

    Head over to badger’s blog and ask her–she’s a DS hair color goddess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

