And Just Like That…

When you’re married to someone who is all business, no emotion and you both start to talk about separating, perhaps divorcing, what you get in your email two hours later is a listing of sources for food stamps, Section 8 housing and welfare. You also get information on filing for divorce, a child support worksheet and are told that he’s already spoken to his friend about renting a room from him.

Helpful. Cold as all fuck, but helpful.

I said what you wanted to hear
And what I wanted to say
So I will take it back
Are all the dishes intact?
Let them be broken, broken

It’s easy to be
Easy and free
When it doesn’t mean anything
You remain selfless, cold and
composed

You’ve done me no favor
To call and be nice
Telling me I
Can take anything I like
You don’t owe me to be so
polite
You’ve done no wrong
You’ve done no wrong
Get out of my sight

Come on baby now throw me
A right to the chin
Don’t just stare like
You never cared
I know you did
But you just smile
Like a bank teller
Blankly telling me
Have a nice life
Come on baby now
Throw me a right
To the chin
Just one sign that could
Show me that you give a shit
But you just smile politely
And I grow weaker and I
Said what you wanted to hear
And what I wanted to say
So I will take it back

It’s easy to be
Easy and free
When it doesn’t mean anything
You remain selfless, cold and
composed

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie (@GoodByeGracie)
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:01:49

    Sending you lots of hugs and love!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 15:02:17

    (((Hugs)))

    (Completely unrelated- when did you switch to WordPress?)

    Reply

  3. sandy
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 15:13:40

    Wow. OK. Well at least the agonizing over to split or not it is nipped in the bud. This proves it’s the Right Thing To Do.

    Cold comfort, though.

    Reply

  4. magpie
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 15:31:21

    Oof. Good luck to you.

    Reply

  5. jasmined
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 16:57:55

    Whoa. A big hug to you.

    Reply

  6. Heidi
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 18:19:44

    Many, many hugs!

    Reply

  7. Angela
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 19:06:32

    Major {{{{hugs}}}}.

    Reply

  8. Mermaid
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 20:58:04

    If you want to make a last ditch there is a great book called desperate marrages.

    http://www.amazon.com/Desperate-Marriages-Moving-Healing-Relationship/dp/B0035G04M0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1268791008&sr=8-1-spell

    It was too late for us, I only wish I had read it sooner. But you both have to want it. One person can no do it alone. 😦 I am sorry you are dealing with this. I remember the fantasizing about divorce too.

    Reply

  9. Rich Monsoon
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 01:21:02

    Wow. I am sorry. I don’t know what else to say. Text me if you want, or call me after 9p and we can chat if you need someone to talk to.

    Reply

  10. Sue
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 07:47:38

    Wow. That had to hurt. Take care.

    Reply

  11. Andrea (@shutterbitch)
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 10:02:33

    Ooh, that’s harsh. Perhaps better in the long run that the emotions aren’t over the top, but in the thick of it, it’s just another insult, isn’t it? But isn’t the lack of emotion one of the things you were most aggravated by, the not seeming to care?

    Many hugs J. I wish this hadn’t happened to you, but perhaps this isn’t the beginning of the end, but just a beginning.

    Much love.

    Reply

  12. Ricki
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 10:56:05

    Wow. All I can think of is to send you hugs. You are going to be okay J ~ You are going to be better than okay, you’re going to get your ducks in a row and be completely fabulous. But deep down inside, you already know that. (((hugs))) for wading through shit creek, getting to the other side is worth it!

    Reply

  13. Vickie
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 21:26:03

    I am Sorry. This is hard on all of you.

    Reply

  14. Sarahtoo
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 22:44:37

    Holy sh*t. I’m so so sorry, J. I wish you didn’t have to go through this, but I’m betting you’ll come out happier in the end. I wish I was closer so that I could help. I’ll be thinking of you…

    Reply

  15. Gabriella
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 19:36:18

    I’m sorry. Look to the future now and don’t look back!

    Reply

  16. Rae
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 00:42:04

    why the fuck doesn’t this feed show up in my reader?!?! i *finally* realized i needed to catch up on your blog and this… THIS… oh man. i refuse to offer my sympathies, because it’s going to turn out fantastic, but i am sorry it hurts. xoxo

    Reply

  17. daysgoby
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 17:52:21

    I got your back, babe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

