This I Promise

To my children:

I am sure (oh, hell, I know, who are we kidding here) that I have broken promises to you and for that, I am sorry. I am sure that I will do it again and all I can offer, again, are my apologies, for whatever they’re worth. I am human and we humans tend to fail, often and sometimes spectacularly.

But I can promise you two things, things that I will never back out of. Two promises that will never let you down.

I promise that I will always love you, no matter what. Even when you’re driving me to drink distraction, I will always, always love you.

Also, I promise that you will never be eaten by a dinosaur.

This post brought to you by The Bug’s latest fear, which seems to involve dinosaurs lurking around every corner, just waiting to pounce.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Traceytreasure
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 21:51:00

    Whatever you do, don’t let her see the movie Jurassic Park!I hope I’m not too late….Great promises!!Hugs!!

    Reply

  2. Stomper Girl
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 03:40:00

    Excellent promises.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 07:10:00

    Awww…true, true.

    Reply

  4. LauraJ
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 07:38:00

    Those are easy promises to keep!I’m glad I don’t have to deal with fears. He’s such a fearless guy.

    Reply

  5. MsPrufrock
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 09:39:00

    P thinks a lot of things are going to get her lately. She’s not fearful exactly, but she’s forever asking for confirmation – “He can’t get you”, the “right?” is implied. I then have to say that “it” (spider, newt, snake, etc) is in a cage or far away from her, and will certainly not “get you”. Dear little souls…Randomly, my word verification is “catrande”, which I think is rather nice.

    Reply

  6. Andrea
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 12:01:00

    Oh sure, you say that now! But in 20 years when genetic engineering has brought them all back to life….Just kidding. It’s nice to have a few of those easy promises in your back pocket, isn’t it?

    Reply

  7. Velma
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 12:41:00

    I think I need to come up with some of those easy promises for my kids!

    Reply

  8. crazymumma
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 21:10:00

    I love you coming back with this.Dinasours are fucking scary. And life, sadly, full of broken promises.

    Reply

  9. Sarahtoo
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 22:37:00

    OK, that? Is awesome. And I love the way you presented it. That reassurance is what it’s all about.

    Reply

  10. Sara
    Oct 29, 2008 @ 22:47:00

    I’m so glad you’re back and equally glad you won’t let your kids get eaten by dinosaurs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

