The Night I Danced With Barack Obama

I went to BlogHer’10. I know, I know, you’re all sick of hearing about BlogHer, but dammit, I had fun and it’s my blog, so I’m going to talk about it.

First, the party to end all parties. Sparklecorn. I briefly danced with this fine fellow. He’s very thin – the office must be wearing him out.

I let a few other women have their turns….

I danced. A lot. My feet had blisters. My blisters had blisters. Me and Velma and Rachel and ChickyChickyBaby and FairlyOddMother and a bunch of other ladies whose names are escaping me (I had still had 5 drink tickets when I got to this party and they gave me another one at the door).  I watched Poppy and Blackbird do some fancy footwork.

I laughed and danced and danced and laughed and admired the sparkly, shiny cake.

I talked to people I only know from Twitter. I met new people. I wasn’t shy. I didn’t hide in the corner, clutching a drink. I didn’t flee in terror. I didn’t feel overwhelmed. I just had pure, unadulterated fun.  I was complimented on my outfit many times, was told my hair was lovely and people squee’d at me when I introduced myself. Squee’d. At me. And I finally, FINALLY got to meet Jessica, from Oh The Joys. She hugged me. A lot. It was awesome.

I snagged one of the sweet Sparklecorn t-shirts, which garnered me more comments the next day than I think I’ve ever had on a blog post. It says “Judy Blume did not prepare me for this.” I’d show you a picture, but, well, I wore it. I may have worn it to bed and then out the next day (I showered, I showered!) because I had no clean shirts left.

Thank you, MamaPop and Sweetney, for throwing such a fantastic, fun party.  And to BlogHer, for once again, running a great conference. I’ll have something on the sessions soon – the ones I attended were (I’m running out of synonyms for fantastic here….) fabulous.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 22:11:55

    Sounds like a blast! I’m jealous but so glad you have a great time–you deserve it!

    Reply

  2. Heidi
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 22:12:51

    I SO want to go sometime! It looks like so much fun!

    Reply

  3. ms picket to you
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 23:22:33

    I was the very beautiful, incredibly brilliant girl acting appropriately sober.
    What? You missed me? So weird.
    NEVER AGAIN will that happen. Will stand on chair longer (next time) in delicious Miller Lite necklace with unicorns in my cleavage to find you.
    Yes. Yes, yes, Bedhead, I will.

    Reply

  4. Chicky Chicky Baby
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 10:11:36

    LOVELY seeing you again even if I felt like the biggest asshat in the world for not recognizing you at first glance. I may never get over that.

    xo

    Reply

  5. David
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 13:07:43

    Seems pretty clear a great time was had by all members of the BlogHer Royalty. I don’t know about POTUS, though. He looked pretty two-dimensional in the pictures. Hope the blisters heal up soon.

    Reply

  6. apathy lounge
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 07:36:40

    Yeah…I’m still on the fence about BlogHer. I’ve never gone and may never go. I think I’d hate having to explain who I was….over and over again. But I love knowing that you had fun. Somebody has to.

    Reply

  7. Elly Lou
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 10:35:30

    Loved, loved, loved meeting you. Jealous of your Sparklecorn shirt. Looking forward to stalking you.

    Reply

  8. sweetney
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 13:42:36

    WOOT! xoxo

    Reply

  9. blackbird
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 17:13:44

    It was lovely to see you…

    Reply

  10. Velma
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 22:37:00

    It was awesometastically wonderful to have you there to share the social awkwardness with. :)

    Reply

  11. Theresa Milstein
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 21:03:03

    I think I have the same picture of the cake!

    The t-shirt is awesome. I haven’t worn it yet.

    How did I miss Barack? I did take a photo in front of the Dwight poster. And I did snag some unicorn confetti.

    Reply

  12. Emilio B. Day
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 08:42:52

    Tailgating is the perfect avenue for good sportsmanship, team spirit, and an overall enthusiasm for sports to be shown off. Hosting a tailgate is more fun than typical party planning but still requires organization and skill.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

