When Is A Book Club More Than A Book Club?

I’ve been in full financial freak out mode for weeks now. It hasn’t been pretty. I’ve had to resort to putting a wave machine on the iPod I got for Christmas just so I can get some sleep at night. Traffic sounds. Who knew that’s what would do it?

The other day, I came home and O told me that one of my friends from book club had stopped by and dropped an envelope off for me. Inside was a nice card that said “We got your back,” basically, and some gift cards. $200 to Stop & Shop and $100 to Target.

So of course, I started crying. I’ve been doing that a lot lately, for myriad reasons. The girls need new sneakers and O needs shirts and I had no idea how I was going to swing that – the Target card will come in handy. And the Stop & Shop cards will buy stuff my food stamps (I hate that I’m on those) won’t buy, like paper towels, toilet paper and shampoo.

I’m grateful to them beyond words. The help that I’ve been getting, from everyone, has been so wonderful. I hate that I have to accept it but I’m so humbled by everyone, for everything they’re doing for me. I’ll never be able to repay everyone but I can say thank you. A million times, thank you. You guys rock. And just ignore me if I start crying the next time we meet. At least I’ll have my own tissues now….

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. magpie
    May 19, 2010 @ 12:12:07

    They are good people. It’s going to work out.

    Reply

  2. LauraJ
    May 19, 2010 @ 12:50:52

    (((hugs))) The world is full of good people. I’m glad you’ve got good people around you.

    Reply

  3. OpinionatedGift
    May 19, 2010 @ 18:49:05

    This makes me feel good about people. Not a common occurrence.

    Reply

  4. Kelly
    May 20, 2010 @ 07:16:27

    This makes me happy. Not your struggle, but that people have gathered around to support you.

    Reply

  5. Andrea (@shutterbitch)
    May 20, 2010 @ 08:52:27

    Do you have PayPal?

    Reply

  6. Sarahtoo
    May 20, 2010 @ 23:14:48

    I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with this–and so happy that you have such good friends. [[HUG]]

    Oh, and I second that PayPal idea! I don’t have your addy anymore, and I’d like to help too…

    Reply

  7. Rich Monsoon
    May 23, 2010 @ 01:11:01

    I wish there was something I could do. You have good friends.

    Reply

  8. Angela
    May 24, 2010 @ 00:18:21

    I’m so glad you have such good friends who are in the position to help out at this time!!!

    {{{{hugs}}}}

    Reply

  9. NicoleP
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 15:00:38

    Julie –

    I feel you, Julie. The kindness of people who didn’t have to has gotten me through the toughest times.

    Can you please send me an address?

    Thanks… And hugs… And all that jazz.

    Nicole

    Reply

  10. NicoleP
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 15:01:01

    Julia, that is… Jeepers.

    Reply

  11. roo
    Jun 02, 2010 @ 19:52:54

    I’m so glad you have friends to lend support when you need them. And I hope your luck turns in the right direction soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

